Book review: Norwegian Wood

Posted on Updated on

Re-blogging this not because I am a fan of Murakami or his Norwegian Wood, but because it includes Norwegian Wood, the theme song for the novel, by the BEATLES of which I am a big FAN.

Book of words

Hakone, JapanWhen results for the 2013 Nobel Prize for literature was announced last Friday, I was disappointed to learn that Haruki Murakami did not win it (again) in spite of being the hot favorite in the run up to the competition (again!). A big congratulation to Alice Munro for bagging the prestigious award this year, though I am certainly still hoping that my all-time favorite Japanese author would one day win a Nobel.

I had recently finished “Norwegian Wood,” one of the early Murakami books that became popular in Japan, following the narrator Toru Watanabe and his nostalgic remembrance of his college life in Tokyo. In spite of the lack of distinct crescendos, I found that the plot slowly grew on me with in a quiet and overwhelmingly sad way through Toru’s quaint, nostalgic memories.

View original post 215 more words

Leave a Reply

